June 1st: My Sunny Side

I am: incurably drawn to sunlight.

Just as the smoke I chase, it’s not the sun (the source) itself I adore… it’s the light that the sun lets in through my window, the light that weighs down on my skin. Abstract, elusive light. Capturing unreality.

The sunlight spills in, pulls me in. Like a cat (or a lizard) to the spot it shines in. Let it rain the down on me – can light… rain? I suppose they both have a sort of liquid beauty.

See, the sunlight does tell me something. Pulling me in, it then pulls out of me two Different Colours. One light brown, pale eye for the me you see: our everyday reality. And one deep dark eye for a world inside. All the places I go and conversations I have with the wind and the trees, they are all there – and more. Perhaps a whole universe.

Sometimes the travel between these two colours takes a long time. Its a journey I’m still learning to make, and I can still get overwhelmed if I need to travel across the universe on short notice. I wish I could always wear them, my two colours and the sun, on my face.

xox

Nelli

3 Comments

  1. It was interesting to read you, it made me think about the fact that the colors are only recognized thanks to the sun 🙂 have a great week and cheers from Lisbon, PedroL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment