Welcome to the Zoo

Walking outside today I feel like a bit of an idiot.

IMG_4650

Clad fully in a long coat, red rubber boots, and an umbrella I look too prepared to be sane. Yet, only an hour ago the monsoon was well on it’s way to unleashing full fury out here. Kind of glad to see that the weather has mood swings too, not just me.

Besides, you can’t really blame me for carrying my umbrella around when it looks like this, can you?

IMG_4643

May flowers are definitely on their way and the streets and my life are buzzing busier and and busier. 90% of my time has been spent at the zoo now, with a couple distinct results.

1. I – my legs that is, are simply DEAD. So much walking, running, standing that I’m thinking of switching to walking upside down on my hands.

2. I love soft toys.

3. I hate elementary school field trips.

4. I hate geese.

5. I simply adore peacocks.

2015 Best Dressed

2015 Best Dressed

you're kind of in the way there, buddy

you’re kind of in the way there, buddy

the trees droop with peacocks at night

the trees droop with peacocks at night

mildly obsessive midnight doodling

mildly obsessive midnight doodling

The working life is hard but the biggest, and basically only drawback is how much time it consumes. So much less time left to discover beautiful places in nooks of Helsinki I’ve somehow missed entirely before.

a piece of delicious real Italy in Katajanokka

a piece of delicious real Italy in Katajanokka

Happily enough inspiration and encouraging messages appropriately present themselves on my way to work that are, admittedly, extreme but put a smile on my lips nonetheless.

IMG_4625-0

On a similar note I’d like to leave you with some further reasons to smile. 56 of them to be precise, just one click away here.

xox

Nelli

Leave a Reply

