Coffee Stained Pages

IMG_4602

you know it – Brooklyn Cafe

I’m going to take a moment to write about my favourite things that I have not written about in a while. The very heart of this blog, coffee and books – while enjoying a good coffee and a good book, of course.

rainy day details

rainy day details

As I took the family room in our house by storm with redecorating, and then stepped back to admire my now immaculately organized bookshelf, it hit me that my bookshelf had managed to organize itself into a collection of cities. New York, Paris, and London. This sneaked (snuck?) up on me and means that, as cliché and mainstream as it is, I have to admit my three favourite cities in the world are just those three. New York, Paris, London. Paris, London, New York. Love, love, love.

My Paris collection includes the following:

  • The Most Beautiful Walk – John Baxter
  • Time Was Soft There – Jeremy Mercer
  • The Little Prince – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (not exactly Paris but the author studied in Paris and it’s a lot closer than most books)

The London collection:

  • Peter Pan – J.M. Barrie
  • Paddington Bear – Michael Bond
  • It Never Rains: A Book of Poems – Roger McGough

And finally, NYC:

  • Never Can Say Goodbye – edited by Sari Botton
  • Breakfast At Tiffany’s – Truman Capote
  • A Tree Grows in Brooklyn – Betty Smith
  • All but one of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s books 

I’ve got my whole world on my shelf, and I highly recommend every single book on this list for a copious number of reasons. Honestly, the apocalypse could start happening and life falling apart; I’d grab a good book, brew some coffee, and settle down in a happy bubble. I can’t think of anything better.

See, it’s a scientific fact: that golden combination of books and coffee is happiness. Consider all the five senses:

  • Sight? Can’t take enough stunning pictures to document the aesthetic delight.
  • Smell? The smell of coffee is worth getting out of bed for on a Monday morning and if it didn’t risk my being kicked out I’d walk through the bookshop inhaling a musty book.
  • Touch? Clasping a hot cup of coffee in your hands is genuinely comforting because the warmth and the cup shape simulate human closeness and don’t tell me you don’t love running your fingers down rough, inked pages.
  • Hearing? The drip of the coffee machine and grinding of beans is like a symphony to me and the flipping pages of a book is immeasurably satisfying.
  • Taste? The taste of coffee is heaven and the taste of b – oh. Please do not eat books.
IMG_4523

this café got it right – Kahvi Charlotta

Hello Beautiful - The Roastery

Hello Beautiful – The Roastery

doing what I can with the machine I have

doing what I can with the machine I have

Whenever possible, I tend to pick up friends who I can hunt for new little cafés with and then hit the bookshop where we spend a happy hour or so losing each other time and again, later reuniting with an armload of books each.

thought I'd lost you for good this time!

thought I’d lost you for good this time!

Clearly making good use of my precious days off work. Not that I don’t love the zoo. This guy doesn’t drink coffee or read books but he is special. He shall receive the title of my best friend forever. Like the sloth, take it easy folks!

hangin'

hangin’

xox

Nelli

Leave a Reply

