March

Today is a special day, ladies and gentlemen. Today marks exactly six months since my first blog post on The Coffee Stained Pages. A full half a year has managed to go by in adventures both close to home and far away, in accidentally philosophical discoveries, and in life-saving cups of coffee consumed.

appropriate

These pages have been for me a place to dump my creative overflow on to, and a place to share a little bit – the better bit – of myself and my journey in the way that I love most. I write to make sense of my world, and the fact that a whole bunch of you keep coming back to share my journies with me is a great happiness in my life. Sometimes it happens I pull happy and inspiring things out of my head and the whirlpool of thoughts in there. If those things make their way into someone else’s whirlpool and consequently turn into a smile, the world – at least mine – is a slightly better place.

So there’s my short and sweet celebratory appreciation speech. What’s life looking like at this moment? Drinking coffee at a bookshop. Mysteriously it always comes to this, no matter where I go… The weekend I spent up in Ottawa skating on the Rideau canal and watching my beautiful cousin get married. How I wish I could share just how beautiful the weekend was, but my phone died for the weekend so no photographic evidence on my part. You’re just going to have to trust me on this one. 

What life is also looking like is my next move. Whatever that may be. I’m concocting the next great adventure, looking through various tickets and reading inspirational quotes. There are a couple I can relate to.

I’ve never been poor, only broke. Being poor is a frame of mind. Being broke is only a temporary situation.

– Mike Todd 

Every individual who has taken it upon themselves to travel far and wide will be more than used to announcing “yeah life’s good and I’m completely broke!” But I never saw that as a big price to pay for making new friends, living out stories, and for some of the best memories of my life. When I lose the love I have for the people in my life and the great big world around me, that is when I am poor.



didn’t cost a thing



People are like stained glass windows: they sparkle and shine when the sun’s out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is light within.

– Elizabeth Kübler-Ross

I like this quote because it acknowledges how beautiful people are just in their existence. They really are. You, you’re people. You’re beautiful. But also, it acknowledges that there will inevitably be times that are dark, and I’ve known more than one kind of dark. But it cannot stay that way for long if you keep true to yourself with a smile on your face and hope in your heart. 



shine on when the sun no longer does

It’s a little surreal to think half a year ago I was just about take off on my first travel adventures alone, but it makes me happy to realize that I’m still going, finding adventures and writing my stories. Sometimes just letting life happen is the best possible thing to do.

Here’s to the next half a year and all of the ones following.

Life’s a bitch. You’ve got to go out and kick ass.

– Maya Angelou

xox

Nelli

Leave a Reply

