Smile

I read of a game. A game of inspiration. The rules: grab the nearest book to you, flip to page 29, and write about the first word that pops out at you from the page. Alright, I’m on it. The closest book to me happens to be the one I’m currently reading – Joy for Beginners by Erica Bauermeister.

IMG_2062.JPG

That’s my blissful morning set up there and, as you can see, I’ve perfected my Dot Design on the coffee. Still working on that dragon.

My word? Smile.

I have to say I’m quite happy with that one. You could say I’m drawn to smiles. I’m especially pleased with this word because the next one I noticed on the page was ‘disability’. On with the smile then!

around the world, I travelled the streets
lost my way, found my feet
the people they came, I watched them go
and all the while, my feet never slowed
but the more I see, day after day
I know not knowing, leads to learning another way.
when I wanted to say Hello, when I wanted you to know-
I’ll never forget you, you understood.
because when I lost my words, I found my smile
and when you saw, you smiled too
you smiled because you knew

There’s an inspired (inspired by communication problems in other countries to be precise) little poem about the universal language of facial expressions and the glittering little moment when two people share a smile. I’ll sign off with an actual smile too. Good night from the city & and keep on smiling – your smile is the prettiest and most inspiring thing you can wear!

Photo on 2014-10-07 at 7.17 PM #2

xox

Nelli

3 thoughts on “Smile

Leave a Reply

