The Art of Coffee

I am extremely happy to be writing this post, because it is all about coffee. Glorious, charming, irresistible coffee. To set the mood I’ll share this perfect sign I have hanging on my wall. No kidding, I nod my groggy head in silent appreciation every morning waking up to this.

IMG_1990.JPG

Life back home has proven to keep busy so far. One thing I’ve gotten up to is a barista course. Not content enough with just consuming way too much coffee, I now started learning all about it and the art of making perfect coffee. Seems like I’m in the right place too. Finland is the number one country in the world when it comes to the amount of coffee consumed in kg per person. Not even the Italians or the French are close to us! It’s because they just keep drinking their silly little espressos – un café s’il vous plaît – while up here in the cold North we go all out with a few big cups of filter coffee every morning just to get our eyes open. And the truth is, it is perilously easy to completely destroy this blessed beverage. Didn’t clean the equipment properly? Left the bag of coffee opened too long? Threw in an extra dash of water in the pot because it looked kind of empty? Congratulations, you have just deprived yourself of delicious coffee. Well, as you might be able to tell, I’m getting rather passionate about the art of coffee here. So I need to move on the actually interesting part.

IMG_1975

Latte Macchiato

This is a Latte Macchiato that I have created! We literally spent hours learning every detail it takes to just produce a good espresso, and then a cappuccino and lattes. I suddenly felt myself adopt a professional air (this was just an illusion though – I had no idea what I was really doing) using those big and impressive, slightly intimidating machines that whirr all over the place. Baristas in cafés make it look way too easy! I am genuinely proud of this Macchiato I made, but that was after a couple hours of brewing espresso and foaming milk. However, when it does work out, you feel like an artist. I don’t keep throwing about the term ‘the art of coffee’ for nothing! I mean, look at those hearts!! I tried something more back at home (with tools from probably the middle ages) and ended up with this…. artwork.

IMG_1980.JPG

It’s a flower! Yes, it looks like a five year old drew it, but it’s a start. Next time I promise I’ll present to you a five-tailed fire breathing dragon.

This morning looked slightly more impressive.

IMG_1987.JPG

IMG_1988.JPG

Good coffee, my undeniably fabulous mustache mug, and my own mop of a dog. Not too shabby, even if I say so myself.

IMG_1976

This looks like a good note to sign off on, to me. I shall let you know how the art progresses. And not that I’m one of those people who feel the need to inform the world of their birthday but… Happy birthday to me.

xox

Nelli

One thought on “The Art of Coffee

Leave a Reply

